Get Offa My Back, Why Don’t Ya?

My usually intelligent self is having a tough time writing right now. I’ve been trying to figure it out. I think I jumped on William’s being shot as the chance to purely procrastinate. We haven’t even checked on William for the past few days, so we obviously know he’s doing well and getting back to normal. Still I procrastinate when it comes to the manuscript – but – the taxes are done, the piles of paper are shredded, the grass is cut. Heck, even the fan blades have been dusted and the AC filters changed. I’m running out of reasons not to write. I’ve read everything Lee Childs and Harlan Coben have written. It’s just about time for me to get this caravan back on the trail, don’t you think!

4 thoughts on “Get Offa My Back, Why Don’t Ya?

    • I love Pressfield’s website, plus the regular emails he sends out to those who “sign up”. I think perhaps that’s part of the problem for me, though. I get so caught up reading what he and others like him have to say about the writing craft that I find myself plumb tuckered out, leave the infernal computer, and go find a good book to read, instead! By the way, I unearthed your old Sewanee copy of “Strange Pilgrims” by Gabriel Garcia Marquez and read it cover to cover. I didn’t like Marquez’s “Love in the Time of Cholera” and I like “Strange Pilgrims” even less. The descriptive writing is beautiful, but the stories are major downers from beginning to end…

Leave a Reply

